American Osteopathic Board of Internal Medicine
Certification and Recertification Web Center
Home Page
User Login

Board Members
Contact AOBIM

AOA Website
PearsonVue Website
ACOI Website
Subspecialty Regulations, Requirements and Procedures

Physicians who have been awarded a Diplomate certificate in internal medicine may seek certification in a subspecialty of internal medicine if they have completed the necessary requirements for a particular subspecialty area of internal medicine. In order to become certified in the subspecialty area, the Diplomate must pass the necessary examination administered by this Board. The Board offers examinations in the following subspecialties:

  • Allergy/Immunology

  • Cardiology

  • Endocrinology

  • Gastroenterology

  • Hematology

  • Infectious Disease

  • Nephrology

  • Oncology

  • Pulmonary Diseases

  • Rheumatology

  • Addiction Medicine (conjoint examination)
  • Correctional Medicine (conjoint examination)
  • Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology
  • Critical Care Medicine
  • Geriatric Medicine
  • Hospice and Palliative Medicine (conjoint examination)
  • Interventional Cardiology
  • Pain Medicine (conjoint examination)
  • Sleep Medicine (conjoint examination)
  • Sports Medicine (conjoint examination)
  • Undersea and Hyperbaric Medicine (conjoint examination)

To view a detailed listing of the Subspecialty Certification guidelines please click here for the Subspecialty Regulations, Requirements and Procedures   document.

©2011 AOBIM. All rights reserved.